Eli Tomac Continues Title Defense at Phoenix With 4th Straight 250SX Win

If the first two races of the season are any indication, it looks like no one will be able to touch Eli Tomac indoors.

If Tomac had a weakness tonight, it was his starts. The GEICO Honda rider started both his heat and the 250SX Main Event outside the top three. Despite spotting time to other riders, no one was able to match his speed, as Tomac consistently ran down anyone in his path.

Jessy Nelson took the holeshot in the Main Event, with Martin Davalos and Joey Savatgy in tow. Davalos soon grabbed the lead, quite a development given his night. A huge crash in the heat race took Davalos out of a transfer spot and sent the veteran rider to the LCQ, which he led from the very start. Davalos held the lead for awhile during the Main Event as well, but he eventually ceded the lead to Tomac.

With Tomac checking out, the focus shifted to how the rest of the podium would shake out. Ken Roczen, who started outside the top five, kept turning fast laps and eventually worked his way through the pack and caught up to Davalos, finally passing the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider for 2nd on the race's final lap.

Following up last week's podium at Anaheim, Cole Seely turned in another solid effort, finishing 4th. His Troy Lee/Lucas Oil/Honda teammate Jessy Nelson held on for 5th after one of his signature quick starts that we saw during the outdoor season last year.

For those wondering about Blake Baggett, he pulled out of competition earlier today due to the wrist injury suffered last week. For now he is out indefinitely, and the rest of the supercross season is certainly in jeopardy for him.

250SX Phoenix Results

1. Eli Tomac
2. Ken Roczen
3. Martin Davalos
4. Cole Seely
5. Jessy Nelson
6. Zach Osborne
7. Ryan Sipes
8. Kyle Cunningham
9. Joey Savatgy
10. Christian Craig

250SX West Region Points

1. Eli Tomac 50
2. Ken Roczen -6
3. Cole Seely -12
4. Ryan Sipes -21
5. Zach Osborne -21
6. Kyle Cunningham -27
7. Tyla Rattray -28
8. Max Anstie -28
9. Martin Davalos -29
10. Joey Savatgy -30